A Blast From the Past

Nostalgia is defined as ‘a sentimental longing or wistful affection for a period in the past.’

Nostalgia marketing aims to use the past to connect with your customer base on an emotional level by helping them relive positive memories. It is said to be particularly effective with millennials and can be worked into marketing/advertising in multiple ways e.g through music, imagery, reusing old content such as adverts, slogans and even re-introducing old products for limited periods.

So,  in this post, I thought I’d give you a couple of nostalgia marketing examples…

Coca-Cola

They’ve used nostalgia marketing quite a bit. The iconic glass bottles, obviously THAT Christmas advert (it’s not Christmas without it if you ask me) and the re-introduction of SURGE…

surge16n-1-webSURGE was first out in the 1997 and, if you didn’t know, is a citrus flavoured drink. It’s production ended in 2003 due to a lack in sales. A Facebook campaign led by three fans of the soft drink called The SURGE Movement, that now has over 300,000 fans, gained the attention of Coca-Cola and eventually led to the product being re-introduced in 2014 on Amazon and then to stores in America in 2015. I know they didn’t exactly plan to bring it back, but they listened to their audience and gave them what they wanted.

Heinz

Beanz Meanz Heinz!

It was named the top advertising slogan of all time in 2012, beating Nike’s ‘Just Do It’. The slogan was introduced in 1967 when an advertising executive called Maurice Drake thought of it whilst at a pub in London. The slogan celebrates its 50th anniversary this year and so has made a comeback with limited edition cans, available from Selfridges.

 

JKR-Heinz-Beanz-Limited-Edition

Halifax

Some familiar faces from the cartoon world have been appearing on the Halifax ads recently and why not? Top Cat’s got to grow up and get a mortgage too I guess, but he’s not the only one. Scooby Doo and Shaggy, The Flintstones and now even The Thunderbirds are popping in for financial advice. halifax nostalgia.jpg

Pokémon

pokemon-1581771_960_720I remember the first advert for Pokémon Go that I saw, I think it may be the one of the only YouTube ads I haven’t skipped. I downloaded the app the day it came out (not even ashamed to say that) and I still have it now. I did, however, find it hilarious at the lack of children playing the game and that I witnessed an adult looking visually upset when their child failed to catch a Charizard. It brought out the Pokémon trainers in all of us… and brought Pokémon back for a new generation to enjoy.

Internet explorer

Ibrowser-773273_960_720 know, I don’t use it either and it is virtually no more, but I though this one needed a mention. An ad they created in 2013 is still pretty cool in terms of reminiscing about the 90’s you can check it out here.

 

 

 

Think I’ve missed out a good one? Let me know in the comments!

blog-header

Leave a Reply

